Trying to see through the cob webs!

Posted On February 22, 2011

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped leave a response

Whew! I’m trying to dust off ye’ old blog today! I’ve been meaning to for a while now, but I always seem to find more pressing matters to take care of.

A few times I log in and then fret over what it is that I have to say….not that I don’t have anything to stand on my soapbox about, but sometimes,well, I just draw a blank with where to begin.

Today I was reading a few blogs that I love and wishing that I had the words that they have or even the photography abilities that they possess. But at the end of my readings I just have to come face-to-face with the fact that I am *me*.  And in the words of a great SNL character, “I’m good enough. I’m smart enough. And dog gone it! People like me!”

So, a bit about what’s been going on in my world.

I’ve had a break through a month ago when Nick came home to find me in tears. My house was a mess, the kids weren’t schooled, dinner wasn’t done and I was at my wits end with everyone. I was one grumpy mama bear. We got the kids to bed that night and had a great heart-to-heart about how I would like to see my day go.

I admitted that I had these great plans of a schedule, but having an idea wasn’t enough! I wanted a schedule on the wall that listed school work and cleaning and basically exactly what Connie from Smockity Frocks has!  Nick gave me a great kick in the behind that night! DUH! If I want one, than make one. But don’t use the excuse of “I don’t have one!” to not stick to a schedule!

The next day I put away the computer and worked on our schedule. I wrote down exactly what I wanted to see done, when and how I wanted to do it! By the end of the week I had my schedule done and hanging on the wall! It’s bright! It’s colorful! And the kids like to see what they are supposed to be doing when! It’s motivated us all to have a better day.

Do we stick to the schedule everyday? No. It’s our goal! Each and everyday it’s our goal to follow the schedule. But, we’re not slaves to our schedule. Daily interruptions (trips to the store for milk, time outside because it’s sunny, playing games) happen, and we let ourselves enjoy life and take in some ‘unschooling’!

In addition to my schedule changes I’ve been indulging in food! Not over eating (though I could! ha ha) but Nicholas bought me a Kitchen Aid mixer for my birthday and I love making new recipes! Breads, cakes, cookies…YUM!

As I type I am drooling over a cake recipe from The Pioneer Woman! Italian Cream Cake! Oh goodness! Coconut, cream cheese, nuts, cake? *drool*

So, with my newfound schedule I’m going to try to set time aside to blog each day…..again, that’s the goal! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.